Unspoken conversation (aspects of dishware)

What the dog notices most
when I leave the room
is the cup in my hand.

The carried cup means I’m coming back.
It is the ornament or object
that  most reliably signals my return.

I take it and I bring it
as if a predictive token
and it is always true.

Should I leave without the cup
the dog rises from the floor
awaiting more information.

Did he go left or right?
Up the stairs or not?
Is he now in the food room?

He does not carry the cup and my leash also.
He does not carry the cup and stop to lean down
to scratch these ears while I open my legs

The cup leaves with him and brings him back.
Connected in some way with that chair
he sits on mostly always.

The dog considers that I do nothing.
I consider that he does nothing.
Both of us cry in our dreams.

 

Leave a Reply

